Default How To Become A Black Cab Driver In London

How do I become a black cab driver in London? I was a cab driver back in the States, and after my divorce, I went traveling to Europe. I stopped by a lot of places but for some reason, I just fell in love with London. Most guys from the States find the people driving on the wrong side of the road stuff very discomforting but I find it very very interesting. I was supposed to spend just a couple of days there, but it is now my 2nd week and I am really contemplating staying here for good. How can a Yank like me become a black cab driver? I know the driving stuff and the knowing where to go aspect of the job would probably take some time to master. It is not like New York where you just hop in a cab and hope for the best. What licenses do I get? Who do I talk to? Do I have to own my own cab or are there companies/ individuals willing to lease/rent them? How much do black cab drivers usually net? I do hope you can help me out mate. Cheers!

Quote Originally Posted by Armand View Post
    How do I become a black cab driver in London? I was a cab driver back in the States, and after my divorce, I went traveling to Europe. I stopped by a lot of places but for some reason, I just fell in love with London. Most guys from the States find the people driving on the wrong side of the road stuff very discomforting but I find it very very interesting. I was supposed to spend just a couple of days there, but it is now my 2nd week and I am really contemplating staying here for good. How can a Yank like me become a black cab driver? I know the driving stuff and the knowing where to go aspect of the job would probably take some time to master. It is not like New York where you just hop in a cab and hope for the best. What licenses do I get? Who do I talk to? Do I have to own my own cab or are there companies/ individuals willing to lease/rent them? How much do black cab drivers usually net? I do hope you can help me out mate. Cheers!