Question Want To Be A Biomedical Engineer

Hello everyone.
    I'll get right to the chase: I'm a rising 4th year in college attending UGA. I came in intending to go pre-med with a B.S. in biology; I discovered i had a healthy interest in math and physics and added math as a second major with the intention of getting into biological physics somewhere down the road; recently I've looked into biomedical engineering, and it is by far the most appealing field I've seen. Using biology, physics, and chemistry to design new technologies seems fascinating.
    My issue is that I feel its far too late for myself to steer myself toward a degree in biomedical engineering. I've been taking a lot of pure math and biology classes, but I know I need to learn much more chemistry, physics, and engineering classes. I want to ask the forum for any and all advice that can help to get a solid degree in this field so I can be ready to start a career as an engineer.

I'm a chemical engineer working on making polymers for drug delivery, so I interact a lot with biomedical/bioengineers (minute differences, really). What I really like about biomedical/chemical engineering is the idea of applied science. It's not just science for science's sake, which, unfortunately, a lot of research out there is. I was originally a chemistry major, went to grad school for organic chemistry, and now I work in chemical engineering. Unfortunately, organic chemistry is currently devoid of true innovation. The real innovation is coming from the engineers both chemical and biomedical. Engineers solve real world problems and apply what they've learned to modern day issues. Plus engineers have more job opportunities and better pay than their counterparts (ie, chemical engineers fair better in the job market than chemists and bioengineers fair better than biologists).